top of page
  • Writer's pictureMore Than Noise

10 Christian Rock Songs for When You're Lonely

Loneliness is something that we have all struggled with from time-to-time. Even when we are surrounded by people, we can still feel isolated and that no one really knows us.


In my own life, I've had times where I felt invisible and that the people around me didn't really want to be around me. Sometimes I forget that God always loves me and is always with me.


If you've ever felt like me, or if you just need some encouragement, then here is a brief list (in no particular order) of Christian rock songs that talk about loneliness. Many of these songs gave me hope and encouragement when I was struggling. I hope these songs can help you too!


1."Anthem of the Lonely" - Nine Lashes

It's important to acknowledge your feelings, which is what "Anthem of the Lonely" does. The song describes a struggle of wanting to change, yet being so used to loneliness that it is hard to leave it behind.


Favorite Lyric: "I don't need a calm in the storm/ Or something to scream about with empty lungs."


2. "All Around Me" - Flyleaf

"All Around Me" illustrates how beautiful and all-encompassing God’s love for love is. Even when we feel alone, we are surrounded by Him.


Favorite Lyric: "I can feel You all around me, thickening the air I breathe"


3. "Whispers in the Dark" - Skillet

The lyrics of this song are from God’s perspective, and it talks about how He is always here with us. The imagery in the lyrics, comparing love to fire, roses, and stars shows how strong, beautiful, and guiding God’s love is. And He pours this love out on us, even when we feel unworthy of it. 


Favorite Lyric: "When darkness comes, I'll light the night with stars"



4. "Erase" - Disciple

"Erase" is also from God's perspective and talks about how even when we feel isolated, unloved, and ashamed, God still loves us and views us not as failures, but as His children.


Favorite Lyric: "My love is greater than your mistake"


5. "Not Alone" - Red

The lyrics of "Not Alone" are also from Jesus’s perspective and talk about how He is always with us and is there for us when we feel like everything’s gone wrong. This song has helped me through many rough patches in life, such as when felt invisible as a teenager and during the COVID lockdown. It reminded me that Jesus is the perfect embodiment of God’s love and that He sees me when it feels like no one else does.


Favorite Lyric: "Love has a face”


6. "Fire On The Inside" - Pillar

This song is an anthem for when we feel like the world has beaten us down and turned our back on us, God is with us. He keeps us alive and gives us the strength to carry on even when we feel like we're the only ones fighting.


Favorite Lyric: "You're keeping me alive with this fire on the inside"


7. "Forever" - Fireflight

"Forever" talks about how God is with us, always and forever. Even when we feel lonely, overwhelmed, and stuck in life, He is here watching over us.


Favorite Lyric: "Been fighting way too long / But I hear Your voice / You had me all along"


8. "Be Somebody" - Thousand Foot Krutch

The vulnerable lyrics of this song describe how everyone searches for their identity and wants to feel important. Yet, our true identity is found in God. After experiencing rejection, this song has reminded that God is the One who knows me wholly, and – knowing everything -- He still loves me truly. 


Favorite Lyric: "You’re the only one who knows who I really am"



9. "Stars" - Switchfoot

"Stars" is a reminder that when we feel burdened and troubled, we should try to look at our situation in light of the "bigger picture" or from God's perspective. Even though we feel lonely in the moment, we should take a step back and know that our struggle won't last forever.


Favorite Lyric: "And suddenly the infinite and penitent begin to look like home"


10. "Never Alone" - BarlowGirl

Copyright reasons won't let me embed the official music video.

Finally, we can't talk about loneliness without mentioning this classic. "Never Alone" starts by admitting how hard it can feel to wait for God to answer our prayers. But then, the song says that even though we can't see God, we have to trust in Him and His promises that He is with us and won't leave us.


Favorite Lyric: "And though You're invisible, I'll trust the unseen"


God loves you, and you are never alone!

Never Miss a Post from More Than Noise

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram

 Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page